Standing your ground

hero_flatsmall

This character meant a lot to me when I was a kid. I used to watch a lot of TV shows where the characters had powers, costumes etc. My brother and sister are a older than me so I used to make up games and imaginary characters. One of which is her.

I was at the age that you draw your characters to look like you or in this case I imagined her to look like me grown up. In these games I used to play one plot over and over and the different scenarios which could take place.


It occurred to me a couple of months back that I had a character, a back story and a plot (all of which I can remember perfectly). Why not bring her to life?

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 13.16.21.png

This was my first attempt of drawing this character, using my new love of pencil and digital colouring. But her pose, anatomy, posture wasn’t right. Looking back at it now it is not good at all, though I really liked the costume I had designed (and used this as future reference).

 

Instead of drawing her in the typical facing forward, I thought it would be best if I learnt how to illustrate her in those scenarios I mentioned. I decided when I was a kid that the most interesting powers there could be was a teleporter, which allowed her to jump from place to place. Here you can see on the left is my hand drawn and watercoloured illustration and on the right is my pencil work digi-painted.

 

hero_flatsmall

On this recent drawing and digi-painting you can see the improvements. I have joined a fortnightly life drawing class which has helped me grasp anatomy, poses and body shapes (should be posting my drawings soon). I think the refinements and developments to her suit really work, and adding a different colour to step away from that initial Egyptian colour scheme.

What you haven’t seen is her development in small sketches and face drawings, trying to harness what kind of character she is. I feel that there is potential to make this childhood story into a project. I’m hoping to perhaps do a small graphic novel for my portfolio. So, stick around folks! Updates and posts to come!

See you soon. x

 

3 responses to “Standing your ground

  1. Great for you! You know, I have this feeling that one of these days I’m going to have to sit down and do this myself? I had/have so many ideas for graphic novels that hopefully I’ll get around to doing one. Again, I hope this works out for you, it looks great!

    • Thanks! Yeah you definitely should, I know the pain of trying to find the time. To be honest I have so many projects on the go at the moment, not sure how long it’ll take me to finish them!

      • Yeah, same here! I just finished an entry for a writing competition and I’m working on a book (right after finishing one). There never seems to be enough time, huh? Your project sounds awesome, I love the design. I would be very interested in seeing how this progresses!

Leave a Reply

