‘Curiouser and curiouser’

DSCN9633Time to tell you about my newest project, one which I am very excited about working on. I hope you all had a good Christmas and Festive season!

If you haven’t guessed already, I am working on an Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland brief. Which is to illustrate the front cover and 2 inner pages for the 150th anniversary of the book. In order to achieve a good grade/degree,  you have to go above and beyond this brief. I have taken it upon myself to illustrate the whole book, which is about 2/3 illustrations for each chapter.

omouse273

I am determined and kind of banned from using and working directly into my watercolour style as this is my comfort zone ^ how I like to work.

The target audience in the brief is 5-9 year olds, after finding parent and child reviews, I have decided to make adjustments to the story through my ilustrations (to make the tale less scary and easier to understand). After researching previous Alice in Wonderland illustrations, I discovered that the majority are 2D, flat visuals. I feel that this doesn’t do the story any justice, as the whole book is about exploring the strange and wonderful world, growing big to shrinking small. I am aiming to work 3D, illustrations becoming 3D and my visual is the photograph.

Here are my visual tests and experiments so far (I’m still trying to find the right approach for what I want to achieve and communicate:

mushroomcaterpillar1 copy

Merging the dream with reality through a combination of sketches and photographs.

DSCN9670

Another shot of this can be seen at the top of this post. Watercolour illustrations brought to life in the rabbit hole through staggered paper, paper cutting, 3D illustrations and lighting. This is one of my favourite experiments as it didn’t take too long to make and it reminds me of work I made at school, I can see how much I have improved on some things since then.

2

This has been the test I have been working on for almost a week. I have never worked with felt before (not since way back at school) but I found it fun but also challenging. I liked working with texture and I feel that this could be developed and improved with more experiments. The texture of the felt brings this piece to life, I need to do more experiments but I have a feeling I’ll be working with unusual, layered textures and materials.

Sorry about the bombardment of work on this post, but I am really excited about this project and wanted to share with you what I have been up to. I hope you all have a happy new year! 2015 is a scary year, I’ll be turning 21 and graduating (hopefully) and I will have to find a job which allows me to do what I really want to do. Those of you who have read my blog or kept up to date with my posts, many thanks :D.Anyhow see you/speak to you in 2015! xx

3 responses to “‘Curiouser and curiouser’

Leave a Reply

